Extraordinary Birds

Extraordinary Birds

Regular price
$11.89
Sale price
$11.89
Regular price
$16.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Title: Extraordinary Birds *

Contributors: Sandy Stark-Mcginnis

Format: Hardcover

Ages: 8 to 12

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, a heartbreaking and hopeful debut about a unique young girl on a journey to find home.


Eleven-year-old December knows everything about birds, and everything about getting kicked out of foster homes. All she has of her mom is the bird guide she left behind, and a message: "In flight is where you'll find me." December believes she's truly a bird, just waiting for the day she transforms. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout; she only needs to find the right tree and practice flying.


When she's placed with foster mom Eleanor, who runs a taxidermy business and volunteers at a wildlife rescue, December begins to see what home means in a new light. But the story she’s told herself about her past is what's kept her going this long. Can she learn to let go?
An extraordinary story about identity and family perfect for fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

*This is a bargain book, for more info please visit our "Why Buy from Us?" page.