It All Comes Down to This

It All Comes Down to This

Regular price
$5.59
Sale price
$5.59
Regular price
$7.99
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Title: It All Comes Down to This*

Contributors: Karen English

Format: Paperback

Age Range: Ages 10 to 12, Grades 5 to 7

A powerful middle grade coming-of-age novel set in a slowly integrating upper middle class Los Angeles neighborhood in the summer of 1965, from a Coretta Scott King Honor Award–winning author. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Sharon M. Draper.

It’s 1965, Los Angeles. Sophie is the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. Plus, there’s her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. Then riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, and Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought.

“Honest, witty . . . relatable. Unfairness and race-consciousness run through the story—so do surprises. Bigotry wears many guises. Kindness does too.” —Wall Street Journal

“Thoughtful and well-wrought . . . . Compassionate, pointed, and empowering.” —Booklist, starred review

“An impressive coming-of-age story.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Reveals how an impressionable and intelligent child learns from the injustices that touch her, her family, and her friends.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

*This is a bargain book, for more info please visit our "Why Buy from Us?" page.